Govt names accounting officers sleeping on job


A leaked doc from the Ministry of Finance displays that at least 18 out of 319 accounting officers for a variety of central federal government votes are allegedly ineligible for reappointment for the Financial Year 2022/2023.

The allegedly ineligible accounting officers for the central governing administration votes are from 13 district regional governments, a single municipal council, a few organizations, and a single referral hospital.

The Secretary to the Treasury, who is also the ministry’s Permanent Secretary, Mr Ramathan Ggoobi, yesterday questioned where by we got the doc, saying the leaked document was an inner memo, which has not been manufactured community.

“I am going to give out the closing listing of designated accounting officers for the 12 months 2022/2023 and we are functioning on it. People are paperwork in development as the Auditor Basic scans via to recommend me as the law necessitates so it is a doing the job doc. A closing document is about to come out,” Mr Ggoobi stated.

On the other hand, he didn’t offer you facts on when the ‘final’ list of accounting officers will occur out.
 Some of the alleged ineligible accounting officers incorporate the govt director of Uganda Industrial Investigate Institute, Prof Charles G. Kwesiga, the managing director of Uganda Coffee Advancement Authority (UCDA), Dr Emmanuel Lyamulemye Niyibigira, and the director of Fort portal Regional Referral Clinic, Dr Alex Adaku.   

The revelation is contained in a doc from the ministry dated March 30, 2022.  The doc, a duplicate which Watch has seen, is titled: “List of Accounting officers for FY 2022/2023”.

The document more exhibits that at the very least 301 accounting officers are qualified for reappointment.

Eligibility implies an accounting officer is utilizing recommendations of the Internal Auditor Typical and the Auditor Normal as for each responses from accounting officers.

In accordance to the doc, the 319 accounting officers are from ministries, organizations, Exterior Security Organisation (ESO), referral hospitals and wellbeing institutions, missions abroad, district neighborhood governments, town councils, municipal councils, contingency fund, and the Petroleum Fund.

The Community Finance Management Act 2015 11 (2) (g) needs the Secretary to the Treasury to appoint or designate accounting officers in accordance with the Act.

But the Act stipulates that the Secretary to the Treasury shall not appoint or designate a individual an accounting officer where by according to the report of an inner auditor or the Auditor Normal, that particular person has not accounted for the public resources and belongings of the vote for a monetary yr.

An accounting officer is deemed to have failed to account for community means or property if he or she fails to work out regulate above the receipt, custody and utilisation of fiscal resources of the vote, producing a important deviation of the funds goals of a vote.


Name, title and Institution/community govt

Prof Charles Kwesiga    Executive director     Uganda Industrial Study Institute
Dr Emmanuel L. Nivibieira    Managing director    Uganda Espresso Enhancement Authority
Mr Abdallah S. Oyare    Ag. Secretary    Soroti College
Dr Adaku Alex    Hospital director    Fort Portal Regional Referral Medical center
Ms Tappy Namulondo    CAO   Kamuli District Area Governing administration
Mr Willy T. Kafureka    CAO  Kamwenge District Nearby Govt
Mr Alex Chelimo    CAO   Pader District Community Federal government
Mr Swalikh M. Wasswa    CAO    Rukungiri District Local Federal government
Mr Patrick Olila    CAO    Amolatar District Regional Authorities
Mr George Adoko    CAO    Amuria District Neighborhood Governing administration
Mr Wotunya Henry Peter    CAO    Manafwa District Nearby Authorities
Mr Joseph Maira Mukasa    CAO    Bukedea District Community Authorities
Mr James Andrew Ocen    CAO    Kalungu District Regional Governing administration
Mr Luke Jackson Abong    CAO   Nabilatuk District Nearby Authorities
Mr Nelson Kirenda    CAO    Bugweri District Neighborhood Govt
Mr Eswilu Donath    CAO    Kassanda District Community Authorities
Mr Stephen Lokope    CAO    Karenga District Neighborhood Governing administration
Mr Mukobi S. Byarufu    Town Clerk    Bushenyi-Ishaka Municipal Council


Supply connection